Beware of jobberBase clone!
I just found this link on digg: osjobber.com.
It seems they have taken jobberBase, replaced most (not even all!) of the references to jobber/jobberBase/myself and launched it as osjobber.
How pathetic is that!?
comments
20 Responses to “Beware of jobberBase clone!”
Leave a Reply
real lame
Amazing but sadly to be expected I guess. I like the bit where they say: “We’ll be available as much as possible to support and add features”
How can you stop these guys?
I wrote them a message, no reply yet. It’s hilarious!
Just go with the story on slashdot, digg & other social news sites. When the stories are up, give a shout on your blog. I bet you will have a lot of support from Romania.
You should not be angry that someone is using this according to the terms of your release. That site is not supposed to be public yet, it should not have been indexed. We will launch officially in the coming weeks. This open source code is going to be edited so extensively that it will be unrecognizable. So extensively that I have chosen to release it from my own website. I don’t see anything wrong with that.
WOW, is that crap!
Keep up the awesome work.
We all appreciate it!
That guy is a jackass
@osjobber - if you are admitting that you have taken the code from jobberbase it is only civil to acknowledge it as such on your site. I know that forking is a way to increase contribution and allowed in most open source licenses but forking is certainly not the most preferred way to contribute.
@jobberbase devs - keep up the good work - only the best survive
Thank you for your support, guys!
It seems that OsJobber will shut down, after all. I don’t mind them using the code, just:
1. Don’t pretend you built it.
2. Don’t use “jobber” in the name.
@osjobber
Well I saw that you did a very extensive work in changing the author of the software. THAT is very wrong! First do the other functionality extensive modifications that you claim you will and after that make a release on your own with your credits in it.
It is good that you disabled the download for now. I am curious if you will keep your word and give to the download only your version. The excuse “That site is not supposed to be public yet, it should not have been indexed” is really pathetic.
What a crap from osjobber !!
All the development code still have jobberbase code name inside.
Seem like totally don’t respecting other people hard works.
Incredible that they would admit publicly to stealing your work!
I came across this nice little job board solution and the price is reasonable:
http://kitchentwo.com/index/p/j-board/
Job boards are in high demand and before I discovered JobberBase I was quoted $5,000 for just reconfiguring an existing job board. The developer made such a big thing that it was developed in Rails!
@OSJobber
If you are forking someone elses work you have to acknowledge its a fork. Open Source hasn’t come as far as it has by people stealing its come this far because people collaborate and recognise eachother. Any open source license (that includes the MIT one) requests that you acknowledge any code that came before yours. There would be no Ubuntu without Debian and definately no OSjobber without Jobberbase… If your site want supposed to be indexed you should have put an htaccess password on it and you should never have submitted your project to google code: http://code.google.com/p/osjobber/
Well, what do you expect? Jobber is MIT Licensed so anyone can legally take their code and distribute it… Look at OpenBSD FreeBSD and NetBSD… they all have BSD in their name.
I doubt OSjobber will leave it in their comments section but I just posted this for their reference, under Unhappy Customer…enjoy.
*****************
Open source is just that and of course with extensive modification one can/should claim the work to be their own. Legally you’re within the lines.
However the reasons I will be going with the original Jobberbase.com are:
* Integrity: you make no mentioned of the source of the original code, no credits, no identification and no attempt to participate in the open source community. This is not your own original creation, it’s an adaptation without recognition or origin.
* There is no community forum supporting it.
* You have the gall to use Jobber in the name. Ethically, that is incredibly cheeky. If your attempt is to create something unique and offer it under your own label, at least change the name. You’ll find that your product will forever be stained by rumor of poaching; rumors validated by using the name.
*****************
Hilarious….I just checked their site again (5 min after posting the above comment)….it’s GONE….Yep….I think I’ll post the same comment a couple times a week from now on….
Also did anyone notice that no Contact Us link exists on their site? Ahh gee I now I feel so much better about their Contributions and Donate links…
OSJobber.com is up again guys….
What you will do Fillips?
I still support you.Dont worry
They can’t last last much with the model they’ve chosen.
The dipshit did alot of effort in changing everything except…
the DB install file still says the Original Author’s name and so do the comments in the sql file. Even the Installation instructions page mentions the name “jobberbase”
Way to go morons@osjobber.com
Yes I started off using osjobber… quickly found it had some bugs so e-mailed the guy running the osjobber site. He had absolutely no idea how to fix them and said that things worked fine on his demo site. I then went to the demo site and things worked, but it was fishy… I checked the source code of his demo page and guess what… he was using jobberbase!
So I headed over to jobberbase.com… muuuch better. Can’t believe the guy is trying to sell himself as the creator. Sure he apparently wants to make a substantial remake of it, but it’s not cool in the meantime to market a buggy re-branding of jobberbase as it ends up screwing over people like myself if they find it before jobberbase. Other than that it’s just outright stealing…
you know what else?!?! the template his wordpress blog is running on is a template by bob. He has removed the credit to the person who made it. pathetic. this guy is an all around mf.